Latest News ↣
  • Le Tour 2016 Route:
  • Running from Saturday July 2nd to Sunday July 24th 2016, the 103th Tour de France will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,519 kilometres.
  • These stages have the following profiles:
  • (9) flat stages.
  • (1) hilly stage.
  • (9) mountain stages including 4 summit finishes.
  • (2) individual time trial stages.
  • (2) rest days.


Team Movistar



The beginnings of this team were based around an anti-doping philosophy, conveyed by two men, Jonathan Vaughters, the manager, and David Millar, who had returned to cycling after a salutary break and is now recently retired from the professional pack. They had experienced cycling’s dark days and intended to rebuild the sport on a sound basis. 

The first participation in the Tour de France of Slipstream in 2008 witnessed the fulfilment of the hopes held by the former Crédit Agricole rider, who announced the sponsorship of Garmin at the start in Brest. The fourth place finish achieved by Christian Vande Velde in Paris was followed by three other unexpected top 10 finishes: Bradley Wiggins, 4th in 2009, Ryder Hesjedal, 7th in 2010, and Tom Danielson, 9th in 2011. Young rider Andrew Talansky’s 10th place in 2013 helped them to forget the mishap of 2012 (with a collective crash in Lorraine). Having won the Criterium du Dauphiné in 2014, the “American pit-bull” was forced to drop out of Le Tour last year, with a heavy heart, but his team did not let their heads drop, accomplishing a moving victory in Bergerac thanks to the performance of Ramunas Navardauskas.

This team, based in Boulder, Colorado, has enjoyed regular success since the team time-trial at Les Essarts in 2011. David Millar, a stage winner in 2012, inspired Dan Martin to taste victory in the Pyrenees in 2013. Renamed Cannondale-Garmin since the arrival of the bicycle manufacturer which withdrew from sponsoring Peter Sagan’s former Liquigas team, the squad remains more than capable of springing surprises.


Stage victories: 7
-    2011: team time-trial at Les Essarts; Tyler Farrar at Redon; Thor Hushovd at Lourdes and Gap
-    2012: David Millar at Annonay-Davézieux
-    2013: Dan Martin at Bagnères-de-Bigorre
-    2014: Ramunas Navardauskas at Bergerac

Victories in secondary classifications: 1
-    2011: team classification

Yellow Jerseys: 7
-    2011: Thor Hushovd, seven days

4: the best place obtained in the general classification on the Tour de France by Jonathan Vaughters’ riders, by Christian Vande Velde in 2008 and Bradley Wiggins in 2009.

7th July 2009: during the team-time trial, its speciality, Jonathan Vaughters’ team battles for victory with the super-power Astana, a prelude to the fourth placed finish in Paris by Bradley Wiggins.
4th July 2011: the day after seeing his dream of winning a team time-trial stage come true, Vaughters savours the victory at Redon of his team’s sprinter, Tyler Farrar, as well as the Yellow Jersey worn by Thor Hushovd.
13th July 2012: David Millar, the incarnation of the team’s anti-doping policy, accomplishes his final redemption by reacquainting himself with success on Le Tour, at Annonay-Davézieux.