Latest News ↣
  • Le Tour 2016 Route:
  • Running from Saturday July 2nd to Sunday July 24th 2016, the 103th Tour de France will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,519 kilometres.
  • These stages have the following profiles:
  • (9) flat stages.
  • (1) hilly stage.
  • (9) mountain stages including 4 summit finishes.
  • (2) individual time trial stages.
  • (2) rest days.

FDJ Team

Team Movistar



Each 14th July, in the bus of the team managed by Marc Madiot, the riders listen to the Marseillaise and the Chant des partisans. The rare foreigners (Bradley McGee, Baden Cooke and Philippe Gilbert) who have brought glory to the team sponsored by the French national lottery are an illustration that FDJ (previously known as La Française des Jeux,, FDJ-BigMat or is a veritable standard bearer for the host country of the Tour de France.

The four-leafed clover bearing riders have experienced varying fortunes on the roads of Le Tour. Rarely well placed in the general classification, except for Christophe Le Mével (10th in 2009) and Sandy Casar (11th in 2009, 13th in 2008), they have succeded in making the occasional splash until the emergence on Le Tour 2012 of Thibaut Pinot, the stage winner at Porrentruy and the first rider under 23 years old to enter the final top 10 since 1947! And as if that was not enough, he went on to finish on the podium in third position on the Tour de France 2014, winning the best young rider jersey as well, whilst giving French cycling the hope of a first victory since Bernard Hinault’s fifth triumph in 1985.

From its beginnings in 1997, in the wake of Frédéric Guesdon’s success on Paris-Roubaix, the team enjoyed its first Tour de France stage victory thanks to Christophe Mengin at Fribourg (in Switzerland). It left its mark on the 100th anniversary of the Tour de France in 2003 with the Australian duo of McGee and Cooke, who won the prologue and the green jersey respectively. Often designated by opinion polls as the “French public’s favourite team”, FDJ draws on this popularity with its native foot-soldiers: Thibaut Pinot for the mountains, Arnaud Démare for the sprints and Arthur Vichot for finishes favouring punchers, under the supervision of Jérémy Roy, a tireless attacker and an embodiment of credible cycling. Furthermore, the charisma of its manager Marc Madiot, one of the major characters of French cycling, lights up the route and chronicles of Le Tour!


Stage victories: 9
-         1997: Christophe Mengin at Fribourg
-         2002: Bradley McGee at Avranches
-         2003: Bradley McGee in Paris (prologue) and Baden Cooke at Sedan
-         2007: Sandy Casar at Angoulême
-         2009: Sandy Casar at Bourg-Saint-Maurice
-         2010: Sandy Casar at Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne
-         2012: Thibaut Pinot at Porrentruy and Pierrick Fédrigo at Pau

Victories in secondary classifications: 3
-         2003: Baden Cooke (green jersey)
-         2011: Jérémy Roy (most combative rider)
-         2014: Thibaut Pinot (best young rider)

Yellow Jerseys: 3
-         2003: Bradley McGee, three days in 2003

18: participations on the Tour de France (without interruption since 1997).

22nd July 1997: the first thrills with the stage victory achieved by Christophe Mengin.
8th July 2003: three distinctive jerseys worn by the team’s riders on the same day (McGee in yellow, Cooke in white and Mengin in polka dots) before the final victory for Cooke in the points classification.
26th July 2014: on the evening of the time-trial between Bergerac and Périgueux, an FDJ rider climbs on to the final podium of the Tour de France for the first time, thanks to Thibaut Pinot’s third place and White Jersey.