Latest News ↣
  • Le Tour 2016 Route:
  • Running from Saturday July 2nd to Sunday July 24th 2016, the 103th Tour de France will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,519 kilometres.
  • These stages have the following profiles:
  • (9) flat stages.
  • (1) hilly stage.
  • (9) mountain stages including 4 summit finishes.
  • (2) individual time trial stages.
  • (2) rest days.

Team Movistar Riders & History Stats

Team Movistar



Team Movistar founded in Pamplona in the amateur ranks by Eusebio Unzue, who is still its manager after having handed over the reins of the structure for a considerable amount of time to the wisdom of José Miguel Echavarri, boasts 32 participations in the Tour de France! Its management remember their sensational debut on Le Tour: at their first attempt, in 1983, they managed to put Angel Arroyo in second overall place behind Laurent Fignon, as well as a famous one-two in the time-trial at Puy de Dôme with Pedro Delgado, who later went on to enjoy the third triumph by a Spanish rider on Le Tour (in 1988), following on from Federico Bahamontes and Luis Ocaña.

The Banesto bank took up the baton from aluminium manufacturer Reynolds and Miguel Indurain succeeded Delgado. The former farm boy from Navarra, who remained with the team until his retirement on 2nd January 1997, became the icon of Spanish cycling. Echavarri and Unzue have since tried to continue Big Mig’s tradition by recruiting Abraham Olano and Alejandro Valverde who they turned into winners on the Tour of Spain but not on the Tour de France, on which they have only enjoyed stage victories. Curiously, the team from Navarra did pick up the Yellow Jersey after an extraordinary episode, when the pack granted a half an hour margin to Oscar Pereiro who had previously lost twenty-six minutes in the Pyrenees, in 2006.

Under the successive monikers of Iles Balears, Caisse d’Épargne and Movistar, the impressively long-lasting team from the Iberian Peninsula has rarely finished the Tour de France empty handed. Valverde seized the last opportunity in the Pyrenees in 2012 to win the stage finishing at Peyragudes. In 2014, he finished one place off the podium (4th). He is still competitive at the age of 35 years, but the time has come for him to use his experience to help Nairo Quintana, absent from Le Tour last year after having concentrated on gaining victory on the Giro, as a stepping stone between his first participation on Le Tour in 2013 (2nd in the general classification and best climber) and his second, which is keenly awaited this year due to a second half of the race that is especially favourable to the leading climbers. Movistar, the only team to resist the current decline of Spanish cycling, is a genuine Tour de France team, in both the past and present.


GC Victories: 7
-         1988: Pedro Delgado
-         1991, 1992, 1993, 1994 and 1995: Miguel Indurain
-         2006: Oscar Pereiro (after the disqualification of Floyd Landis)

Stage victories: 30
-         1983: Angel Arroyo at Puy de Dôme (time-trial)
-         1984: Angel Arroyo at Morzine
-         1985: Eduardo Chozas at Aurillac
-         1986: Julian Gorospe at Saint-Étienne
-         1988: Pedro Delgado at Villard-de-Lans (time-trial)
-         1989: Miguel Indurain at Cauterets
-         1990: Miguel Indurain at Luz-Ardiden
-         1991: Miguel Indurain at Alençon (time-trial) and Mâcon (time-trial)
-         1992: Miguel Indurain at Saint-Sebastián (prologue), Luxembourg (time-trial) and Blois             (time-trial)
-         1993: Miguel Indurain at Puy du Fou (prologue) and Lac de Madine (time-trial)
-         1994: Miguel Indurain at Bergerac (time-trial)
-         1995: Miguel Indurain at Seraing (time-trial) and Lac de Vassivière (time-trial)
-         1997: Abraham Olano at Eurodisney (time-trial)
-         2000: Vicente Garcia Acosta at Draguignan
-         2003: Juan Antonio Flecha at Toulouse; Pablo Lastras at Saint-Maixent-L’Ecole
-         2005: Alejandro Valverde at Courchevel
-         2008: Alejandro Valverde at Plumelec; Luis Leon Sanchez at Aurillac
-         2009: Luis Leon Sanchez at Saint-Girons
-         2011: Rui Costa at Super-Besse
-         2012: Alejandro Valverde at Peyragudes
-         2013: Rui Costa at Gap and Le Grand Bornand; Nairo Quintana at Annecy-Le Semnoz

Victories in secondary classifications: 7
-         1991: team classification
-         1999: team classification
-         2000: Francisco Mancebo (best young rider)
-         2003: Denis Menchov (best young rider)
-         2004: Vladimir Karpets (best young rider)
-         2013: Nairo Quintana (best climber and best young rider)

Yellow Jerseys: 73
-         1988: Pedro Delgado, eleven days
-         1991: Miguel Indurain, ten days
-         1992: Miguel Indurain, ten days
-         1993: Miguel Indurain, fourteen days
-         1994: Miguel Indurain, ten days
-         1995: Miguel Indurain, thirteen days
-         2006: Oscar Pereiro, three days    
-         2008: Alejandro Valverde, two days
57: the number of days that Miguel Indurain wore the Yellow Jersey.

16th July 1983: on the 15.6 km time-trial from Clermont-Ferrand to Puy de Dôme, the Reynolds team, making its debut on Le Tour, puts two newcomers in the first two places, Angel Arroyo (the runner-up in Paris behind Laurent Fignon) and Pedro Delgado.
19th July 1991: in the last kilometre of the Col du Tourmalet pass, Greg LeMond, the previous year’s winner, gives in and Miguel Indurain, following a death-defying descent with Claudio Chiappucci, soars away to a first triumph.
15th July 2006: in an incredible turning of the tables, Oscar Pereiro, who finished 26 minutes down the field at Pla de Beret, takes the Yellow Jersey by finishing 2nd in Montélimar, 29’57’’ ahead of the pack