Latest News ↣
  • Le Tour 2016 Route:
  • Running from Saturday July 2nd to Sunday July 24th 2016, the 103th Tour de France will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,519 kilometres.
  • These stages have the following profiles:
  • (9) flat stages.
  • (1) hilly stage.
  • (9) mountain stages including 4 summit finishes.
  • (2) individual time trial stages.
  • (2) rest days.

Team Sky Riders & History Stats

Team Sky



Team Sky, based around Bradley Wiggins who was recruited following his 4th place in 2009, but off form in 2010 and injured in 2011 after one week of racing, dropping out with a broken collarbone after 179 km of the stage between Le Mans and Châteauroux near Notre-Dame de Miséricorde in Pellevoisin, did not bear the hallmarks of a major Tour de France team on its first two participations, with its best overall finishes being the 17th place accomplished by Thomas Löfkvist in 2010 and the 24th position achieved by Rigoberto Uran in 2011.

Its debut on Le Tour was still encouraging: Geraint Thomas took second place on the stage over the cobbles of northern France in 2010, and the following two days, Edvald Boasson Hagen, on his first attempt at Le Tour, finished third, a prelude to his two stage wins in 2011, which allowed Dave Brailsford’s team to avoid coming away empty handed for a second consecutive year.

However, the situation changed markedly in 2012: a one-two in the general classification by Bradley Wiggins and Chris Froome, as well as three stage victories by its sprinter Mark Cavendish, who felt relatively unsupported in a squad essentially built to conquer the Yellow Jersey. The story was the same in 2013 with the expected triumph of Froome, number 1 throughout the stage race season, but it was interrupted on the 101st Tour de France, which set off from Great Britain partly due Team Sky’s contribution to generating enthusiasm for cycling and popularising the sport in the British Isles. The title holder fell twice (on the 4th and 5th stages). Forced to drop out, he was not succeeded by Richie Porte, despite the Australian being second in the general classification in the Alps. The British team did not appear to have a workable plan B, but it has since resumed its victorious ways. A winner, like in 2013, of the Critérium du Dauphiné, Chris Froome is once again the favourite to triumph on Le Tour.

View More cool Team Sky apparel & accessories!


GC victories: 2
-    Bradley Wiggins in 2012
-    Chris Froome in 2013

Stage victories: 11
      - 2011: Edvald Boasson Hagen at Lisieux and Pinerolo
      - 2012: Mark Cavendish at Tournai, Brive-la-Gaillarde and in Paris; Chris Froome at La Planche des belles filles; Bradley Wiggins at Besançon and Chartres
      - 2013: Chris Froome at Ax-Trois domaines, Mont Ventoux and Chorges

Victories in secondary classifications: 0

Yellow Jerseys: 28
-    2012: Bradley Wiggins, 14 days
-    2013: Chris Froome, 14 days

2: the number of overall victories on the Tour de France for Great Britain.

7th July 2011: Edvald Boasson Hagen gives Sky Procycling its first success on the Tour de France at Lisieux.
9th July 2012: one year and a day after breaking his collarbone between Le Mans and Châteauroux, Bradley Wiggins puts on the Yellow Jersey after winning the time-trial between Arc-et-Senans and Besançon.
21st July 2013: Chris Froome becomes the second British rider and the first African – by place of birth and upbringing – to win the Tour de France, on the one hundredth edition of the race.