Latest News ↣
  • Le Tour 2016 Route:
  • Running from Saturday July 2nd to Sunday July 24th 2016, the 103th Tour de France will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,519 kilometres.
  • These stages have the following profiles:
  • (9) flat stages.
  • (1) hilly stage.
  • (9) mountain stages including 4 summit finishes.
  • (2) individual time trial stages.
  • (2) rest days.

Team Cofidis Solutions

Team Movistar



Initially run by Cyrille Guimard, but only during its first year of existence (1997), the Cofidis team, at its beginnings, attracted major names of world cycling who, it its colours, did not exactly shine on the Tour de France: Lance Armstrong, Maurizio Fondriest, Tony Rominger, Francesco Casagrande, Frank Vandenbroucke… American rider Bobby Julich (who only recently admitted to having doped) did finish third on Le Tour 1998, but it was by placing its Scottish prodigy David Millar in the Yellow Jersey, on his first participation, symbolically at Futuroscope where a new page in history was written in 2000, that the team with financial backing from the credit by phone company lit up France during the month of July.

Moreover, another David has alone embodied the longevity in cycling of the sponsor from northern France: Moncoutié. Over eleven participations in the Tour de France, the now retired climber, who experienced all the glory years and upheavals of the Cofidis team, picked up two stage victories, the first coming at Figeac, in the Lot county, the area from where he comes, a rare feat in the annals of Le Tour!

Cofidis’ star somewhat faded with the drop down into the second division in 2009 and the loss of its best riders, such as Sylvain Chavanel, the last team member to win a stage (in 2008), but it is still a pillar of current cycling with its seventeen years of racing. It is now relying on the devastating sprints of Nacer Bouhanni to reacquaint itself with triumph. Indeed, the last bunch sprint won by a French rider was accomplished in the colours of Cofidis (Jimmy Casper in 2006).


Stage victories: 10
-         1997: Laurent Desbiens at Perpignan (after disqualification of Sergeï Outchakov)
-         2000: David Millar at Futuroscope (time-trial)
-         2002: David Millar at Béziers
-         2003: David Millar at Nantes (time-trial)
-         2004: Stuart O’Grady at Chartres and David Moncoutié at Figeac
-         2005: David Moncoutié at Digne-les-Bains
-         2006: Jimmy Casper at Strasbourg
-         2008: Samuel Dumoulin at Nantes, and Sylvain Chavanel at Montluçon

Victories in secondary classifications: 2
-         1998: Christophe Rinero (best climber) and team classification

Yellow Jerseys: 4
-         1998: Laurent Desbiens, two days
-         2000: David Millar, two days

18: the team’s participations in the Tour de France (without interruption since 1997).

2nd August 1998: Cofidis receives the team classification winner’s award on the Champs-Élysées.
1st July 2000: young rider David Millar makes the headlines by beating Lance Armstrong in the inaugural time-trial of the first Tour de France of the 21st century, at Futuroscope.
15th July 2004: David Moncoutié becomes one of the rare riders to win a stage in his county of origin, the Lot, at Figeac.