Latest News ↣
  • Le Tour 2016 Route:
  • Running from Saturday July 2nd to Sunday July 24th 2016, the 103th Tour de France will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,519 kilometres.
  • These stages have the following profiles:
  • (9) flat stages.
  • (1) hilly stage.
  • (9) mountain stages including 4 summit finishes.
  • (2) individual time trial stages.
  • (2) rest days.

Team Lampre-Merida

Team Movistar



By finishing seventh on the Tour de France 2011, Damiano Cunego boosted the image of Lampre, a team that had previously been rather discrete over fourteen participations in the Tour de France since it has often given priority to the Tour of Italy. However, this was not the best overall classification of one of its riders, because Lithuanian Raimondas Rumsas finished on the podium (3rd in 2002) and Roberto Conti, the third Italian winner at Alpe d’Huez after Fausto Coppi and Gianni Bugno in 1994, took sixth place that year.

The blue and fuchsia pink jersey of the Italian laminated steel manufacturer has been present on the roads of Le Tour since 1993, the year of the best performance on the Big Loop achieved by Uzbek sprinter Djamolidine Abdoujaparov, who won three stages and the points classification. The team, however, ceased to exist between 1996 and 1999, but following the wishes of the Galbusera family (the father and son run the firm), it resumed its adventure in the cycling world by relaunching another sprinter, Czech Jan Svorada, a stage winner in both periods (in 1994 and 2001). Before the arrival in its colours of major Italian sprinters such as Daniele Bennati, Alessandro Petacchi and Sacha Modolo, the Lampre team gave the Tour de France one of its great thrills in 2002 with the unexpected attack, right under the pack’s noses, of young Swiss rider Rubens Bertogliati, from right underneath the red flame marking the last kilometre, to the great displeasure of Erik Zabel.

Michele Scarponi was the last Lampre rider to have excelled on Le Tour when finishing second to Thomas Voeckler at Bellegarde-sur-Valserine in 2012. Last year, Rui Costa, wearing the world champion’s rainbow jersey, was forced to exit the race at the foot of the Pyrenees due to bronchopneumonia, leaving the team leadership to the forty year-old winner of the Vuelta, Chris Horner, 17th overall and the last to attack in the mountains on the way to Hautacam, before being overtaken by Vincenzo Nibali. After the third place on the Dauphiné 2015 achieved by Rui Costa, supported by Tour of Oman winner Rafael Valls, the eighteenth participation in Le Tour by the Italian team now backed by Asian manufacturers (Merida, Champion System…) promises to be of a high standard.


Stage victories: 12
-    1993: Djamolidine Abdoujaparov in Vannes, Bordeaux and Paris
-    1994: Jan Svorada at Futuroscope; Roberto Conti at Alpe-d’Huez
-    1999: Ludo Dierckxsens in Saint-Étienne
-    2001: Jan Svorada in Paris
-    2002: Rubens Bertogliati in Luxembourg
-    2007: Daniele Bennati at Castelsarrasin and Paris
-    2010: Alessandro Petacchi in Brussels and Reims

Victories in secondary classifications: 3
-    1993: Djamolidine Abdoujaparov (green jersey)
-    2006: Damiano Cunego (best young rider)
-    2010: Alessandro Petacchi (green jersey)

Yellow Jerseys: 2
-    2002: Rubens Bertogliati, two days

10: the lead in number of points of Alessandro Petacchi over Thor Hushovd at the finishing line in Paris in 2010.

19th July 1994: Roberto Conti (6th in the overall general classification) wins at Alpe d’Huez with only three Lampre riders in the race, the two others being sprinter Jan Svorada and domestic Marco Zen.
7th July 2002: Rubens Bertogliati resuscitates the long-forgotten type of feat whereby a lone rider surprises the pack by breaking away one kilometre from the finish to pick up the Yellow Jersey.
18th July 2006: Damiano Cunego cannot resist Fränk Schleck’s attack at Alpe-d’Huez but takes out an option on the white jersey for best young rider that he is battling for with German Markus Fothen.